Nations at War Vassal Modules Released

Discussion in 'Nations At War Series' started by Trent Garner, Nov 9, 2017.

  1. Trent Garner

    Trent Garner Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hello players and fans of the Nations at War series! We're happy to announce that new Vassal modules for all three core games have been released, including White Star Rising 2nd Edition, Desert Heat 2nd Edition and Stalin's Triumph. You can download these and other LnLP modules by going to the Lock 'n Load page on the Vassal website.

    http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Category:Lock_N_Load_Publishing

    If you find there are errors or missing counters, etc., please post here on the forums to let us know. We'll get things corrected as quickly as we can. In the meantime, good hunting!
     
  2. Warren Smith

    Warren Smith Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    I came across some bizarre errors of counter morphing but it was seemingly random and not easily reproducible. It was with the WSR module.

    A number of times, the formation counters would be drawn “upside down” and would resist being flipped properly. At one point, when a formation marker was drawn, counters on the map itself transformed into the backside graphic for the formation markers.

    A lot of times, I was drawing formations manually, but using the button also seemed to be problematic.

    If you’re interested I’ll see if I can recreate or duplicate the problems I was having. FWIW, I’ve seen the same problem with the original module but it’s only happened once and not nearly to the extent I saw it in the new module. We had to restart our game and ditch the new module due to the extent of the problem we experienced. Maybe I’m doing something “wrong” but can’t imagine what.

    Warren
     
  3. Trent Garner

    Trent Garner Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    I took a look at the WSR module. I added every possible chit to the cup, then ran them through the auto-draw mechanism 25 times. I also ran through all of them manually 25 times. During one auto-draw sequence, I saw a couple of the German chits get placed in the German chit pile, but they were offset from the rest, as though the pile was expanded (it wasn't). However, when I clicked on the pile, everything returned to normal. I only saw this one time and could not recreate it.

    To be fair, I did not do any testing while connected to an opponent over a LAN or the Internet. After my 'single player' testing failed to produce anything significant, my thinking switched to the Vassal software, perhaps it's a synch issue between clients? Just guessing, of course.

    My next plan is to load up the original module and repeat my testing and see if I notice anything like you describe. Perhaps I can get a friend to bring his laptop to my place so we can do some testing over a LAN, followed up by testing over the Internet when he returns home.
     
  4. Trent Garner

    Trent Garner Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hello Warren. After trying to find this bug, I am unable to recreate what you described. Since I am not having this problem with the module on my computer, I decided to refresh the download file on the Vassal website using a copy of my current module. If you and your opponent are willing, could you download the v1.1 module from the Vassal website again and test it?
     
  5. Warren Smith

    Warren Smith Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Trent,

    Sorry I haven't gotten back to this. Also sorry to put you through all that work. I have seen similar minor errors of the same nature in the old module, but nothing as extensive as happened that one time. I do have a saved log where a similar problem occurs in the old version of the module if you'd like that to see if it does the same thing for you. It's definitely hit or miss and almost impossible to replicate, so perhaps it is a vassal thing. If that log I've got the latest version of vassal so perhaps it was something to do with that. We only used it pbem, not live.

    Anyway, we've just started a new game with the old module. When we complete it, we'll try again with the new module and let you know if any funny business happens.

    Again, sorry to cause all that testing for seemingly no result. Thanks.
     

Share This Page