Welcome to the LnLP Forums and Resource Area

We have updated our forums to the latest version. If you had an account you should be able to log in and use it as before. If not please create an account and we look forward to having you as a member.

Noob - Needs help getting started

Dunnie

Hey Guys,

I am completely new to Turn Based computer War Games. My main interests fall in the WWII time frame .. but the Cold War era I find intriguing as well. Anyway ... I don't really know where to get started will all of this. There seem to be a lot of options and an overwhelming pool of games to choose from.

My question is ... Is there a typical path for starting to play these games ? Like is there a decided best game etc etc.

Thanks

D

rocketman

I think it depends on which scale you are most interested in, tactical, strategic or operational. Also on the level of knowledge you have about that era and its weapons/units. Also the amount of time you are willing to spend on a game and/or games. Bear in mind that Command Ops is not a turn based game. Have you played any WWII games so far or are you willing to start from scratch?

Dunnie

I have played rts war games before ... but a LONG time ago ... company of heroes etc.

I am the kind of guy that obsesses on a game until I have exhausted it. So I might only play one game a year. I got into more FPS war games over the years and am yearning more strategic thinking. I do love the RTS genre. I am old enough to remember the good ol Command and Conquer Days. SHiiiiii. Anyway ... any advice to a path to getting started here would be awesome ... do any of the games have enough detail to maybe teach me a thing or two I don't know about WWII. Most of my knowledge comes from Movies and Books.

TO answer your question : I am ready to start from scratch. Unless there is a better place to start... hahahaha.