Welcome to the LnLP Forums and Resource Area

We have updated our forums to the latest version. If you had an account you should be able to log in and use it as before. If not please create an account and we look forward to having you as a member.

Early Screenshot

Tom Proudfoot

Digital Designer
Hey there, I did not notice your post. In return, I will offer a detailed reply!

Things are a little slower than I had hoped. It's a new engine, using a new graphics library which I have never used before and unfortunately a lot of the way things work in it are backwards from the way I have always done things for way too many years.

Basically, my old projects always ran the timing/logic loop at full speed and dipped out to draw the screen whenever it had a chance and this particular library is running the graphics loop at full speed and dips out to do game logic. This sounded like a fine idea at the time, but it is making me have to do a lot of things in this engine in a message-passing and frequently infuriating manner. But, it's getting there.

Most of the parts are in place - melee is in, fire combat is in, searching buildings & picking up stuff is in. The reaction stuff, which in a way is really the core of ATZ, is not done yet. After that is working, we can start taking a look at how the game itself plays, right now it's more like a collection of disparate parts.

Additionally, I lost the first two weeks of November to the thrilling experience of my first kidney stone, which I do not recommend to anyone. So I got, er, recovered from that and then bam, it's Thanksgiving. So I have a ton of catching up to do to make up for lost time, but I am typing away as fast as I can. :)

Punisher

Hey Tom,
thanks for the update! Looks like all parts will come together soon as you get more time to work on the game.

I have had several kidney stones passed or removed and I dont wish that to happen to my worst enemy.

*budd*