Welcome to the LnLP Forums and Resource Area

We have updated our forums to the latest version. If you had an account you should be able to log in and use it as before. If not please create an account and we look forward to having you as a member.

Artillery thread

Kensal

I thought I would start a dedicated artillery thread, as I think it would be useful to exchange information about how the AI operates artillery on behalf of players.

When I started playing Command Ops I micro-managed artillery and found that by doing so it was pretty much impossible not to win, so I limited myself to Corps artillery management but still found it difficult to lose. So noting that John Connor's advice on the sitrep thread, I have played a few games now without touching my artillery. I have also pasted below Keydet's questions as these focus on the AI's artillery management.

The games I have played without artillery are now much tougher, but like Keydet, I have noted that some of my artillery never seems to fire at all, so I was wondering whether it is possible to increase the possibility of the AI calling in artillery. So:

1. Battalion attached mortars seem to engage relatively regularly which is fine;

2. Therefore, do I increase the possibility of a division or corps artillery battalion engaging if I attach it to a particular battalion to which I have given a mission? My experience is that does seem to be the case or at least it will normally fire at targets close to the unit to which it is attached rather than elsewhere.

3. Do I decrease the possibility of a division or corps artillery battalion engaging if I give it a move and defend order to a particular location and leave it unattached thereafter? This does seem to be the case.