5.0.18 - Triple Msg Posts and Crash on Leaving Game

Discussion in 'CO2 - Game Support' started by John Franklin Rock, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. John Franklin Rock

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello All,

    Most recent issues with release 5.0.17 are that I am seeing the in game messages in triplicate:

    Triple Notice in CO2.jpg

    And, when I leave or exit a game, it crashes:
    CO2 Crash on Exit.jpg

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    I can confirm both these problems.

    Regards

    Tim
     
  3. Renato

    Renato Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Confirmed !
     
  4. Stephen Harper

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. José L Orcastegui

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,252
    Likes Received:
    424
    OK I'll look into it.
     
  7. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,252
    Likes Received:
    424
    It's not happening here./ I need a save where there is triple posts and another where it will display that error message on quitting.

    Please confirm the method of exiting the game. Do you do this via the Game Menu - ie by clicking on the Menu button in the toolbar and then selecting Quit.
     
  8. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,252
    Likes Received:
    424
    Re triple posts. What dialogs are open?
     
  9. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,252
    Likes Received:
    424
    OK I found the triple messages. This occurs when you have the Tools dialog open and I believe that's because I have failed to remove the original messaging code from there. In CO1 that was where the messaging code resided but once we moved to separate dialogs that could be dismissed I had to move that code to the GameWindow. I'll follow up on this.
     
  10. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,252
    Likes Received:
    424
    Actually it's not the Tools Dialog but the Orders dialog. The more I discover about this bit of code the less I like it. It attempts to incorporate code that needs to be available all the time but is doing so in a dialog that may be hidden. Not good. Looks like I have some work ahead of me to rectify this. My apologies folks but in the interim it may be best to use the 5.0.16 build. It won't have the messages but it will avoid the crash bug at the end when you quit and I suspect some other irregularities. I will aim to get this fixed by the end of the week, touch wood.
     
  11. rjantzi

    rjantzi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm also experiencing the crash bug. How do I roll back from 5.0.17 to 5.0.16?
     
  12. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,252
    Likes Received:
    424
    I've solved the triple posts issue and I think I have also fixed what I think maybe causing the crash. I believe that was caused by having a duplicate AddObserver() call. But to confirm that I need a save that produces the crash error on quitting. Can someone please provide me with that as I have not been able to reproduce that error here on my dev machine. If I can get that asap I can put out a new build.
     
  13. Stephen Harper

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    see attached - just 'leave game'
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,252
    Likes Received:
    424
    Thanks Stephen. I fired up the LNL release version and confirmed that I do get the error. I then built a new release version with the changes I made earlier today and I don't get the error. So I reckon this is fixed now.

    FIXED
     
  15. Stephen Harper

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great! When you pussing 5.0.18 out the door?
     
  16. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,252
    Likes Received:
    424
    Stephen, please check out the Dev forum mate. I have posted a link there to a replacement exe. Can you please download it, run it and see if that fixes things on your machine and get back to me. Thanks.
     
  17. Stephen Harper

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dev forum? where is that?
     
  18. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,252
    Likes Received:
    424
  19. Stephen Harper

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. John Franklin Rock

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Outstanding! I installed the patched EXE and it fixed both issues. Thank you for the good work and lightning fast response.
     

Share This Page