Air combat questions

Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
16
Points
3
Age
72
Location
Orland Park, IL
On my third mission to Amiens, I was on the return flight two boxes from the English base over water when I rolled a four on the formation events table. Then I rolled a seven for enemy fighters and got 6 FW-190s. Since I was on the return trip, my fighter escort was gone. I skipped the fighter versus fighter air combat and went right to the interceptors versus bombers air combat. I had the first wave of four interceptors attack for randomly selected bombers. The bomber defensive fire damaged two of them. The two good interceptors and the two damaged interceptors then attacked the bombers damaging one of them. Now for the questions that arose from this cCombat:
#1. Rule 9.2.8 states that there are two rounds of combat before the interceptors break off and head for base. Do the damaged interceptors fight a second round of combat?
#2 if the damaged interceptors do come back for a second round of combat and are damaged again, are they destroyed or merely damaged or victory point purposes?
#3 after the second round of combat from the four interceptors, I did a first and second round of combat with the remaining second wave interceptors. They both attacked the same bomber. I assume that bomber got a defensive shot against each of them. Is that correct?
4. My next mission is to Romilly. Can I take a slightly longer route to use the escort rendezvous box directly below Rouen and try to get a new escort at that location or do you need to take the shortest route?
Sorry to be such a pest but there is no YouTube video of the play of this game.
Thanks
Tom Konczal
 

Tony Costa

Member
Staff member
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
75
Points
18
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks Tom,
#1 Yes

#2 Destroyed

#3 Yes
However...if I understand your question and game situation (mission to Amiens requires 6 Bombers) there shouldn't have been a second and third wave of attacks necessary. Unless somehow your roll generated 8 Interceptors, the +2 loose formation modifier maybe? But even then see below:

Rule 9.2.4 "If the Enemy has more than 4 Interceptors attacking all the Elements, the extra Interceptors will attack in a second (or third) Wave"
So basically every Element has to have 4 Interceptors attacking before a second wave is formed.

#4 You can take whichever route you choose, it's your decision :)

Please no need at all to apologize, you're not being a pest by any means. -Tony
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
16
Points
3
Age
72
Location
Orland Park, IL
Thanks Tom,
#1 Yes

#2 Destroyed

#3 Yes
However...if I understand your question and game situation (mission to Amiens requires 6 Bombers) there shouldn't have been a second and third wave of attacks necessary. Unless somehow your roll generated 8 Interceptors, the +2 loose formation modifier maybe? But even then see below:

Rule 9.2.4 "If the Enemy has more than 4 Interceptors attacking all the Elements, the extra Interceptors will attack in a second (or third) Wave"
So basically every Element has to have 4 Interceptors attacking before a second wave is formed.

#4 You can take whichever route you choose, it's your decision :)

Please no need at all to apologize, you're not being a pest by any means. -Tony


Reply to your #3: After rolling for FW one 90s, I rolled a D6 and got a six which meant there were six interceptors. I had no escort at this point and assumed that the last two interceptors had to attack in a separate second wave. I gave them to attacks in the second wave. Hope that was correct.
 

Tony Costa

Member
Staff member
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
75
Points
18
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Also check Rule 9.4
You only form a second (third) wave if all Elements (every Element) in the Formation has 4 Interceptors attacking it.

If I'm reading the situation right you have two Elements (6 total Bombers for Amiens mission), therefore a total of 8 Interceptors is necessary (4 on each element) before a second wave is formed. You would have needed to generate 9+ Interceptors for a second wave.

Unless somehow you are down to only one Element (3 Bombers)? Maybe I missed that in your first post.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
16
Points
3
Age
72
Location
Orland Park, IL
Also check Rule 9.4
You only form a second (third) wave if all Elements (every Element) in the Formation has 4 Interceptors attacking it.

If I'm reading the situation right you have two Elements (6 total Bombers for Amiens mission), therefore a total of 8 Interceptors is necessary (4 on each element) before a second wave is formed. You would have needed to generate 9+ Interceptors for a second wave.

Unless somehow you are down to only one Element (3 Bombers)? Maybe I missed that in your first post.

No, you are correct. I reread the rules and understand it better now. I also assumed that, for their second attack, the interceptors reroll to determine which bombers they attack on the second attack. Is that correct?
 

About LnLP

Welcome to the official Lock 'n Load Publishing Community page. Here you will find the latest information on our released and upcoming games.



We enjoy designing, developing, and publishing some of the best strategy games in the world. Lock 'n Load Publishing has published over eighty products, including our fan favorites Nations at War Series, World at War 85 Series, and Lock 'n Load Tactical series. We have expanded the publishing line now to include novels to go along with our game series in Paperback, EPUB, and Audiobook lines.

As Lock 'n Load Publishing moves forward, it intends to continue to broaden its product lines. We thank God for blessing us and allow us to follow our passions and thank you for support in our endeavors.


Like us on Facebook

Donate Cadence International

Cadence serves all branches of the U.S. military in American and overseas locations. Comprised of nearly 4 million people, the U.S. military community has proven to be one of the largest, most responsive sub-cultures today. Cadence ministers not only to military personnel but to their spouses and dependents as well.

Thank you for your interest in supporting our us. Please specify an amount below to begin the secure, tax-deductable donation process.

Donate to Cadence International
Top