BMP-1/Sagger Question

Discussion in 'Against the Odds' started by Curt, Jul 27, 2020.

  1. Curt

    Curt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    12.3 states that if a BMP-1 or a Sagger fire their AP factors that if they roll an odd number that the FRT result is an NE. What if either two were stacked with a Syrian leader and a tank or infantry? Would the whole stack suffer the NE result?

    Syrian reinforcements note that an odd roll on turns 2-10 allows you to deploy 3 Mi-8, 6 infantry, and 2 Sagger. Does this happen every turn that there is any one of those 3 types available due to losses? If so, do Mi-8 units need to have troops onboard for them to fly that turn? Or can they just go off and make attacks? Or can they be held off of the map waiting for something to carry?

    Thanks!!

    Curt
     
  2. Curt

    Curt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bueller? Bueller?
     
  3. Joshua Gottesman

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering this, too.
     
  4. Maurice Fitzgerald

    Maurice Fitzgerald Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    21
    Curt,

    The BMP/Sagger Units rolling an odd number on the FRT would give the result of NE. As it states in the rules, this is modeling the fact that the missiles were in short supply in this battle. So this result will only be in effect for BMP/Sagger units.

    If the units are stacked with a leader and he is using combined fire with both missile units, then yes, the result applies to both BMP/Sagger units.

    If they are without a leader, or are not combining their fire, then it will not affect both units at once, only the unit declaring and rolling for the attack.

    The odd roll does not affect any other non-missile unit in the hex, although the result of the combat roll may still give a No Effect result on the CRT depending on the firepower and roll number.

    For the reinforcements, only units that have not already been brought into play can enter as reinforcements. Destroyed units are out of play and don't come back in as reinforcements.

    Mi-8 helicopters can be flown in for attacks if you choose, they don't need to sit idly by waiting for infantry to ferry into battle. If they are carrying troops, once the troops debark then the helicopter leaves the board. Attacking helicopters are in hover mode and don't exit immediately upon their attack but must switch to Flying mode to move to another location on the map, be it for an attack or in preparation for an attack. If you just want them to exit completely, once in Flying mode they can immediately exit the map.
     

Share This Page