Bunker - Opportunity Fire and Adjacency Modifier

Discussion in 'Lock 'n Load Tactical Series' started by Ben2013, Mar 14, 2019 at 8:41 AM.

  1. Ben2013

    Ben2013 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    As a bunker is a hex within a hex: (1) can units inside the bunker Op Fire on units entering the hex where the bunker is in? (2) do units firing at the units in the bunker from the front three hexes of the hex containing the bunker get the +2 adjacency bonus?
     
  2. Stéphane Tanguay

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    91
    From the 5.0 rulesbook:

    1) Units in a Bunker CAN fire on units on top of (in the same hex as) a Bunker as if they were adjacent. (page 120)

    2) Units in a hex adjacent to a hex containing a Bunker or Cave ARE considered adjacent to the units BOTH INSIDE and OUTSIDE of the Bunker or Cave (page 60)
     
  3. Ben2013

    Ben2013 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Stephane. So if they are considered adjacent, is there also no Op Fire permitted by bunker units at units entering the hex (with the bunker) from the 3 hexes in front of the bunker?
     
  4. Stéphane Tanguay

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    91
    Units entering the bunker hex (going on top of the bunker) from the three front hexes (or even the three rear hexes) can be op fired upon in the bunker hex
     
  5. Ben2013

    Ben2013 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Usually adjacent units entering a hex, say for melee, cannot be fired upon by op fire from units in the hex. In this case, if these units can still be fired upon by units in the bunker, then the bunker's hex within a hex rule must prevail over the adjacency assumption (which you kindly pointed out on page 60 of the rules). In any case, how can the units in the bunker op fire against units entering the hex from the back three hexes if they can only direct fire from the front three hexes?
     
  6. Stéphane Tanguay

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    91
    As you probably know, units on a ground level hex adjacent to (but outside of) a multi-level building are adjacent to both the ground level building hex and the upper level building hex. If the unit enter the building, it could be fired on by units on the upper level, as if it was adjacent. Basically, this unit was adjacnet in the outside hex and adjacent in the gound level building hex.

    The same apply to bunker hex.

    Units in the bunker cannot fire at units in an adjacent back hex but they can fire at unit in the same hex as them, as if they were adjacent. I don't know the exact reason behind allowing units in the bunker to fire at units on top of them and this is a change from polder edition but these are the rules at the moment.
     
  7. Ben2013

    Ben2013 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Stephane. The multi-level analogy is helpful. So I suppose a unit entering a building from an adjacent hex can be op fired upon by enemy units in the same hex of the building but on the upper floor. It appears therefore that the enemy on the upper floor of a building, like enemy units in a bunker, get the adjacency bonus twice when firing upon units approaching the building hex / approaching the bunker from the front 3 hexes - once when the units are in the adjacent hex and again when they move into the ground floor of the same building hex / on top of the bunker.
     
  8. Stéphane Tanguay

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    91
    Exactly. That being said, the units in the bunker can only fire once per turn so, unless you move adjacent to the front of the bunker in one impulse and then move on top of it in a alter impulse, they will shoot at you only once
     

Share This Page