Command Ops 1 - Prokhorovka: Central Corridor v1.0

Small scenario to play as Axis only. Command a Regiment sized mixed force

  1. john connor

    john connor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    116
    john connor submitted a new resource:

    Prokhorovka: Central Corridor for CO1 - Small scenario to play as Axis only

    Read more about this resource...
     
    Tactical Wargamer1 likes this.
  2. kipanderson

    kipanderson Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    3
    John,
    Thanks... will have go tomorrow I hope..
    All the best,
    Kip.
     
  3. J. van Limpt

    J. van Limpt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    Looking great. Would love to see this for CO 2.
     
  4. john connor

    john connor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    116
    Sorry. I no longer have any of those files.
     
  5. Tainster

    Tainster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to upgrade scenarios from command ops 1 to command ops 2
     
  6. john connor

    john connor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    116
    No, I don't think so.
     
  7. Tainster

    Tainster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've converted this to CO2 although the scenario has no objectives or forces. Is there a way of retreiving this information?
     
  8. john connor

    john connor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    116
    I have downloaded it and 'converted' it also, simply by opening each bit (estab, map, scenario) in the respective CO2 editor and converting each bit like that, but it still crashes at start with some error, not sure which. I could get past that because I'm running a special version of the game (for beta testing) and thus I was able to play the scenario a bit. I'm not sure how well it converts if you haven't got that version. The presence of the ahistorical panzerfausts and panzerschrecks in the Axis estab doesn't seem to make much difference as the forces never get so close to each other that they would be in range! It's just a bloodbath. I must have 'scripted' the soviets (via objectives) to get them to behave more or less historically, which they do, with predictable historical results, each time. The Axis player just needs to issue one Defend in situ order to all forces and let it run in order to get a draw. Time runs out before much else would be possible. Not the most interesting scenario. I didn't try it from the Soviet side, however. That would be more challenging maybe. Maybe not, as at the moment the AI tends to change all the initial dispositions at start and if it does this in this scenario it will lose the benefit of all the dug-in Axis positions, which would make it perhaps too easy for the Soviets, who have an overwhelming numerical superiority. I think perhaps now - several years since I made this scenario - I would think that Prokhorovka is one of those battles where the asymmetrical historical set-up tends to dictate a particular almost inevitable result (the historical result) and thus it's not the most interesting battle to put in a game.
     
    #8 john connor, Apr 2, 2020
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2020
  9. J. van Limpt

    J. van Limpt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks for trying, John. Still would love to play it in CO2.
     

Share This Page