Ending the Strategy Phase

Discussion in 'Pacific War - From Pearl Harbor to the Philippines' started by DICK BOYES, Oct 9, 2017.

  1. DICK BOYES

    DICK BOYES Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rule 7.5 (3) states that when naval units move to an OZ where there are enemy units "The player who is executing a Strategy now has his Strategy Phase end."

    The Strategy Phase consists of a series of Initiative tests followed by Strategy ROUNDS. Each player doesn't have a Strategy Phase.

    It seems that moving into an enemy OZ should not end the entire PHASE. If that is the case, then in a Turn 5 where the Allies have just gained 10 RCs and have big offensive plans, the Japanese should try to get the initiative, run a CA into an enemy OZ, and end the entire Strategy Phase.
     
  2. Francisco Colmenares

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm pretty sure that's a typo and should just say it ends their strategy. Notice that players don't have separate strategy phases. The strategy phase is common to both players. The rules speak of the player ending thier strategy [phase]. Which only makes sense if the player is executing a strategy after winning the initiative.
     

Share This Page