Escort Questions

wtexas

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2017
Messages
27
Points
3
Age
60
Location
San Angelo, TX
I'm a little confused about bomber escorts.

1. "5.6-Only ONE Escort is permitted during a Mission." I assume this is supposed to read that only one escort at a time is allowed during a mission? I ask because the preceding sentence indicates a choice must be made to keep the current escort or roll to pick up another. If only ONE escort is permitted then there would be no need to choose whether to keep the current escort or roll for a new one.

2. "5.5-If the Formation has moved a total number of boxes away from the 8th Air Force Base Box that exceeds the Escort Fighter's Range Rating the the Escort Fighters must leave the Formation." So if the bombers pick up their escorts in a green box one hex away from their base, the escorts will accompany the bombers only five more hexes (at which point they will be six spaces away from base box)? And if bombers pick up escorts in the space south of Rouen, these escorts can only accompany the bombers one more space? (Assume that this is 1942 and the escorts are P-47s.)
 

Tony Costa

Member
Staff member
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
75
Points
18
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks wtexas, we are working on updating the rules now so your post is very timely.
1) one Escort at a time

2a) "..So if the bombers pick up their escorts in a green box one hex away from their base..." The Escort starts in the 8AF box with the Bomber Formation. Can you point to a rule that made you think the Escort could be picked up one Green Space away? Not trying to troubleshoot you, I'm looking for a possible ambiguous rule. Thanks.

2b) The new Escorts have their full movement allowance. I agree it might be a bit too helpful to the player so we might have to adjust that.
 

wtexas

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2017
Messages
27
Points
3
Age
60
Location
San Angelo, TX
2a) "..So if the bombers pick up their escorts in a green box one hex away from their base..." The Escort starts in the 8AF box with the Bomber Formation. Can you point to a rule that made you think the Escort could be picked up one Green Space away? Not trying to troubleshoot you, I'm looking for a possible ambiguous rule. Thanks.

Tony,

No worries. Section 2.3 states that the green color coded boxes "represent England and Escort Rendezvous Sites." This helped cause some confusion.

Curtis
 

About LnLP

Welcome to the official Lock 'n Load Publishing Community page. Here you will find the latest information on our released and upcoming games.



We enjoy designing, developing, and publishing some of the best strategy games in the world. Lock 'n Load Publishing has published over eighty products, including our fan favorites Nations at War Series, World at War 85 Series, and Lock 'n Load Tactical series. We have expanded the publishing line now to include novels to go along with our game series in Paperback, EPUB, and Audiobook lines.

As Lock 'n Load Publishing moves forward, it intends to continue to broaden its product lines. We thank God for blessing us and allow us to follow our passions and thank you for support in our endeavors.


Like us on Facebook

Donate Cadence International

Cadence serves all branches of the U.S. military in American and overseas locations. Comprised of nearly 4 million people, the U.S. military community has proven to be one of the largest, most responsive sub-cultures today. Cadence ministers not only to military personnel but to their spouses and dependents as well.

Thank you for your interest in supporting our us. Please specify an amount below to begin the secure, tax-deductable donation process.

Donate to Cadence International
Top