Welcome to the LnLP Forums and Resource Area

We have updated our forums to the latest version. If you had an account you should be able to log in and use it as before. If not please create an account and we look forward to having you as a member.

Fighter vs fighter questions

Mike Sundborg

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2014
Messages
19
Points
3
Age
64
1. When a damaged fighter receives a second damage result during fighter vs fighter combat, is it destroyed? (I assumed so but did not find it in the new rules).

2. Can damaged escorts that are engaged with undamaged interceptors disengage?

Thanks

Mike
 

Tony Costa

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
75
Points
18
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
1. Yes, a damaged Fighter that receives a second damage result during Fighter vs Fighter combat is destroyed.

Rule 10.1 should read: Damaged: flip Aircraft to Damaged side. If already Damaged is now Destroyed.

2. "Can damaged escorts that are engaged with undamaged interceptors disengage?"
If you mean can damaged Escorts withdraw (move down to the Escort Section) after a round of Air Combat, no they can not.

Just to make sure we are on the same rule, Rule 9.1.10:
pg 24
"After all first round Air Combat is resolved you must decide for each nonengaged Escort whether to continue to attack the Interceptors or to withdraw from combat."

pg 25
"For Escorts that continue with Air Combat return to Rule 9.1.6 Position Escort Fighters and follow all Fighter vs. Fighter Air Combat steps again from that point to resolve the second round. Leader and Wingman combinations are not required to remain paired."

So if your damaged Escort is still engaged with an Interceptor it cannot withdraw from combat (move down to the Escort Section), however when you repeat the steps starting with 9.1.6 you might have an opportunity to re-position your fighters so the damaged Escort is in less danger (make them a Wingman).

The intent of going back to 9.1.6 is to abstractly represent that during a swirling aerial melee fighters only have a few seconds to get a shot off on a target, then they become separated and look for other targets.

Hope that helps. -Tony
 

Mike Sundborg

Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2014
Messages
19
Points
3
Age
64
Thanks Tony!

Got it about engaged escorts (how I was playing this ),

The ability to have a wingman become the lead in an engaged situation is a great subtle tactic !

Thanks

Mike
 
Top