Formation Event Check

Discussion in 'A Wing and a Prayer - Bombing the Reich' started by board_dan, Jan 8, 2021.

  1. board_dan

    board_dan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't find anything about it in the rules.. but will you do a formation event check in every single travel box? Including the last (8 Air Force Base) and bombing location? It feels strange to perform the event formation check there but I can't find anything in the rules saying you shouldn't, and if you look closely at the formation events table 6.1 it even says "0-1 boxes away from 8th air force base box". 0 boxes away means literally being in the box, so I'm guessing you'll do one last formation event check as you're returning to base from the mission?
     
  2. Jan Horinek

    Jan Horinek Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, you do it in every single box, including the starting box. Hence the "0".
     
    board_dan likes this.
  3. board_dan

    board_dan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0

    After reading the rules about 20 times and reading every single post and reply on bgg and here, I'll agree that you will do it in the 8th airforce base box. But it seems to me that formation event checks and the flak check is skipped in the target box. Instead you'll do the approach and egress flag
     
  4. Jan Horinek

    Jan Horinek Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    No, they are not skipped. You do both formation event check and the standard flak check in the target box.
     
  5. board_dan

    board_dan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just can't believe that were supposed to do THREE flak checks in one box, it does not make sense at all. And then so an event check in that.

    5.0
    "Follow the Mission Turn Sequence to
    move your Formation on the MISSION
    MAP towards the designated Target Box,
    resolve any events or attacks in each
    Map Box entered. Once at the Target Box
    conduct The Bombing Run procedures.

    After the Bombing Run move your
    Formation, using the same Mission Turn
    Sequence steps, back across the MISSION
    MAP to return to the 8th Air Force Base
    Box and complete the Mission."


    Here it tells us that once at the target box, we should conduct the bombing run. However it does not specifically say to skip the other steps so I'd say it's up for interpretation.


    [5.10]
    "Repeat the previous steps (Rules 5.1 -
    5.9) in the Mission Turn Sequence until
    your Formation enters the Target Box."


    Here it specifically tells us to do all the normal checks (Escort range, event, formation etc) UNTILL you enter the target box. I interpret that as you don't do steps 5.1-5.9 in the target box.


    [5.11] CONDUCT THE BOMBING RUN
    When the Bomber Formation enters the
    Target Box, conduct The Bombing Run,
    see Rule 11.0.


    Again, not telling us to do steps 5.1-5.9 in the target box.
     
  6. Jan Horinek

    Jan Horinek Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    The rules are clear "resolve any events or attacks in each Map Box entered".
    It is not up to interpretation. You enter the target box, you do the event check and flak.
    Why would you skip the chance of being attacked by interceptors over the target?

    On top of it "Once at the Target Box conduct The Bombing Run procedures".
     
  7. board_dan

    board_dan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    The rules are not clear and that is my point. I've played most Solitaire games on the market, since the release of QOTS, and the rules in this game are all but clear.

    [5.10]
    "Repeat the previous steps (Rules 5.1 -
    5.9) in the Mission Turn Sequence until
    your Formation enters the Target Box."

    "Until" is clear for me. What you wrote is also clear. What we have here are inconsistent rules and that is the direct opposite to "clear".

    Let's try to have a discussion instead of trying to prove each other wrong, it's more productive.

    Let's play with the thought that you will actually do an event check and the standard flak roll in combination with the bombing run. Luckily for us the bombing run is actually well described.

    1.11 describes the approach flak and 11.4 describes the agress flak. Now if you would actually do the standard flak plus these 2 flaks described, where would you go about and do them? Because doing it before APPROACH is obviously wrong, and doing it after EGRESS would also obviously be wrong. So in this very detailed and well described bombing run, you suggest we stuck in another flak and even an event check? Then i have 2 questions for that to make sense:
    1: Why don't they describe it in the bombing run rules, and they specifically write that 5.1-5.9 (which include standard flak and event check) is done untill you enter target box
    2: When during the bombing run sequence do you stick the extra flak and event check? Because it obviously can't he before or after, given the name of the flak described in the bombing run sequence.
     
  8. Jan Horinek

    Jan Horinek Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    You are right, this is a contradiction and the rulebook is generally very poorly written.
    I happen to have the pre-release rules and the sequence is clear there. In each box - after you have done all the standard steps - you check if you are over the target and if yes, then execute the bombing run procedure.
     
  9. board_dan

    board_dan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any chance you could post those rules online? I'm still crossing my fingers hoping the game designer or game producer will chime in
     
  10. Jan Horinek

    Jan Horinek Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    They won't unless you send them an email. PM me on BGG.
     
  11. Jan Horinek

    Jan Horinek Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    The rulebook does not mention this, but the designer has confirmed that you do not roll for the standard FLAK attack when you enter the Target Box (this is because you will go through Approach and Regress FLAK later that turn).
    You do roll for the Formation Event Check as normal.
     

Share This Page