heroes and satchel charge

Discussion in 'LnLT Rule Questions' started by fulgar, Dec 31, 2018.

  1. fulgar

    fulgar Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    if a heroes (with a FP of 1) is moving with an assault move and then fires by throwing a satchel charge to an adjacent hex during the same impulse. How did you manage this situation ? There's no modifier for the satchel charge and there 's is a -2 modifier for the heroes's FP ? Are we applying a FP of 6+1 (-2 for DRM) or a FP of 6 without applying the -2 DRM ?
    Is it clear what I write ?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Stéphane Tanguay

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    96
    I would resolve it as 1d6 +1 (IFP) +6 (satchel charge) -2 (AM)
     
  3. fulgar

    fulgar Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    perhaps there's another possibility with only using the satchel charges and in this case we could have
    D6+ 6FP (satchel charge only)
    because no IFP are applied and we will respect the 1.6.3 rule that states "Satchel Charge attacks do not receive any other DFT attacking unit’s die- roll modifications" except leadership.
    what do you think Stéphane ?
    Anyway by using the IFP i'm agree with your answer
    thanks anyway.
    Fulgar
     
  4. Stéphane Tanguay

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    96
    Seems correct to me
     
  5. fulgar

    fulgar Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you Stéphane
    Best Regards
     
  6. Captain Darling

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    76
    I have not got my rules in front of me but from memory a Hero can’t use their IFP when using a SW (still using v4.1 maybe 5 is different). I’ll check the SW section when I have them...

    Cheers!
     
    Barthheart likes this.
  7. Captain Darling

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    76
    And don’t forget the Hero loses 2 MFs when toting a SW so it could only use 2MFs and then throw the charge if using AM.
     
    Barthheart likes this.
  8. Barthheart

    Barthheart Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    108
    The Capt. is right on both counts.
     
  9. Stéphane Tanguay

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    96
    Yes indeed (so many things to consider at once) but if you replace hero with AM-capable squad, the original question still stand (and my original answer is still valid :))
     
  10. fulgar

    fulgar Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK on the last rules version 5 page 17 says :"Heroes (11.2) firing a SW forfeit their IFP."
    So they shall not use their IFP so my situation shall be resolved with
    2MF then throwing the satchel with D6+6FP
    thanks for the clarifications.
     
  11. Captain Darling

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    76
    Hi fulgar spot on!

    In the instance of a full squad with AM capability carrying out a satchel charge attack after moving I would calculate it as below;

    Total Attack = D6 + IFP + 6 (satchel charge) - 2 (AM modifier) + 2 (adjacency modifier applied to the Squads IFP)

    BTW fulgar love your avatar the FCM36 is the coolest looking early war French tank (not the best in action though ;)), I just got a 1/56 scale one in resin for miniatures gaming!

    Cheers!
     
    #11 Captain Darling, Jan 4, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2019
  12. fulgar

    fulgar Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you Captain Darling for the compliment on my avatar and thank you for the quality of your a answers
    BTW what kind of miniature game are you playing?
     
  13. Captain Darling

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    76
    With my WW II 1/56 figures/models I’m using either Chain of Command (CoC) or Troops, Weapons & Tactics (TW&T) for platoon level games. My 1940 French force is one my favourites!
     

Share This Page