Learning LOS

Discussion in 'LnLT Rule Questions & Clarifications' started by Cheeks, Jul 26, 2020.

  1. Cheeks

    Cheeks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looking for confirmation that I'm understanding LOS correctly.

    1) The image below shows the LOS tool as a red line from F7 to I4. The LOS crosses G5 (Light Jungle, degrading). Since the red LOS does not pass through the silhouette (artwork) there is NO degrading modifier. Is this correct?

    01.png

    2) The image below shows the LOS tool as a red line from F3 to H1. The LOS crosses G1 (Bamboo Hut, blocking). Since the red LOS does not pass through the silhouette (artwork), LOS in NOT blocked. Is this correct?

    02.png

    Thanks to all who answer.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Barthheart

    Barthheart Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    131
    1 Correct. Although the line looks to touch that one tree... to my eye anyway. Good thing the line is thin.

    2 Correct.
     
  3. Cheeks

    Cheeks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Barthheart.
     
  4. ThomM

    ThomM Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    1. Yeah, that looks like it touches a "leaf" in G5. I can't recall if it's explicitly stated in the LnL Rules, but my regular LnL Vassal opponent and I use the ASL rule for calls like that: if the terrain/obstruction in question isn't clearly visible on both sides of the LOS string, it is not in play. I'm always surprised how many times that "borderline call" comes up in play, even in non-urban scenarios.
     
  5. Stéphane Tanguay

    Stéphane Tanguay Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    162
    Myself, I would call the first one degraded and the second one clear
     

Share This Page