LOS Question

Discussion in 'LnLT Rule Questions & Clarifications' started by Tony Bravo, Feb 12, 2016.

  1. Tony Bravo

    Tony Bravo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    Board #15:

    If I have an American MMC in I6 and he attempts to shoot a German MMC in K4, is the LOS blocked?

    I know that J6 is considered degrading terrain, however is the entire hex of J5 considered blocked terrain, or is LOS clear from I6 to K4? I ask because when I use a piece of thread to view the LOS, the building in hex J5 is not touched by the thread. I know in other games, if the thread does not touch the building, the LOS is clear. Is this the same case for HoN?
     
  2. MichaelCD

    MichaelCD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    12
    No expert and I do not have those maps but in 10.3 of the modern era 4.1 rules and probably in the same section of the WW II rules, it says:
    Any silhouette of blocking terrain crossed by a LOS blocks it (except as otherwise noted).

    So to me that means it has to actually touch the silhouette.
     
  3. Tony Bravo

    Tony Bravo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thank s
     
  4. Stéphane Tanguay

    Stéphane Tanguay Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    164
    Actually, if you play by the RAW, the LOS is not even degraded in J6 as the thread does not touch any grave symbol and nowehere in the rules (IIRC) or the TEC is this type of terrain considered as filling the whole hex.
     
  5. Jeff Lewis

    Jeff Lewis Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    147
  6. ThomM

    ThomM Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    The exception being Rule 10.3.2, LOS along a hex side. If the American squad was in J6, then the terrain in both J5 and K5 would be considered to fill the whole hex (and LOS between J6 and K4 would be degraded) .
     
  7. Jeff Lewis

    Jeff Lewis Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    147
    Correct
     
  8. Starman

    Starman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    Is this any hex side flanked by blocking/degraded on either side along LOS or only adjacent to firer or target.
     
  9. Stéphane Tanguay

    Stéphane Tanguay Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    164
  10. Starman

    Starman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks again, I thought I had only asked this on BGG didn't realise also asked elsewhere on here.
     

Share This Page