Question about LOS and Object Height

Discussion in 'LnLT Rule Questions' started by Wiggum, Jul 3, 2018.

  1. Wiggum

    Wiggum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi !

    I'm really struggling understanding the details of Object Height and LOS and how they are linked.
    The manual (5.0) is, in my opinion not very clear about that and some things seem strange.

    Is the Object Height and the Height at which the Squad would be correct in this image ?
    [​IMG]

    Please look at these LOS situations (A,B,C,D):
    [​IMG]

    (The black swirls depicts the "Shadowing")
    (The building in Hex K3 is a multi-story HC building)

    A: The Squad in Hex K3 is at Level 1, Object Height of the LC building in Hex K4 is Level 1.
    The Squad CAN target the enemy in Hex K6 but could NOT target the enemy if he would be in Hex K5.

    B: The Squad in Hex K3 is at Level 1, Object Height of the HC building in Hex K5 is Level 1.
    The enemy is also in a multi-story HC building at Level 1. The Squad CAN fire on the enemy.

    C: The Squad in Hex K3 is at Level 1, Object Height of the LC building in Hex K5 is Level 1.
    The Squad CAN target the enemy in Hex K8 but can NOT target the enemy in Hex K7.

    D: The Squad in Hex K3 is at Level 1, Object Height of the HC building in Hex K5 is Level 1.
    Object Height of Hex K7, a Hill with Light Woods is Level 2 (Level 1 Hill + 1 Level for the Light Woods).
    The enemy is in Hex K8 on a Level 2 hill, Object Height for Hex K8 would be Level 2.
    The Squad CAN fire on the enemy because while it's traced through a degrading terrain obstacle that rises to a higher total hex level than the Squads Level, it does not rise higher then that of the target’s hex level. Therefore, if the enemy can see the squad, the squad can see the enemy. LOS is degraded because of the Light Woods which are <= the Level of the Targeted Unit but > the Level of the attacking Squad.

    Is this all correct ?

    Thanks !
     
    #1 Wiggum, Jul 3, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2018
  2. Stefano G.

    Stefano G. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    32
    Hi Wiggum,
    maybe it's my browser problem, but i can not see your images?...could you reload them?
     
  3. MirabelleBenou

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hello Wiggum,

    I think that all is correct.
     
    Wiggum likes this.
  4. Wiggum

    Wiggum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi !

    Here are the direct links to the images, thanks for taking a look at them !
    (copy to browser)
    imgur.com/6JYt7kv
    imgur.com/WIVNyy8
     
    #4 Wiggum, Jul 6, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
  5. TerryB

    TerryB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    25
    When I was getting into LNL I did a similar thing to Wiggum, but not as graphically pleasing... However, maybe this doc will help a bit more.

    Have fun!
    Terry
     

    Attached Files:

    #5 TerryB, Jul 6, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2018
    Wiggum likes this.
  6. Jeff Lewis

    Jeff Lewis Editor
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    147
    Object Height Images are correct.

    A, B and C are correct. A is covered in LOS Examples 8, 9, and 11. B is covered in LOS Example 7. C is also covered in 8, 9 and 11.

    D is incorrect. The Squads have a clear LOS to each other; the Squad in K3 is not in the one-hex shadow of the Light Woods in K7. LOS Example 9 covers this.
     
  7. Captain Darling

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    76
    Hey Jeff,

    Could you please look at my last post on the thread titled ‘LoS - confirming my understanding of the rules’ regarding LOS and clarify my query there.

    THANX!
     

Share This Page