Question: Can CO1 scenarios be utilized in CO2?

Discussion in 'CO2 - Scenarios' started by davidshq, Apr 1, 2015.

  1. davidshq

    davidshq Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm just wondering if CO1 scenarios are compatible with CO2? If not, is there a documented process for migrating them?

    Thanks,
    Dave
     
  2. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    286
    No the stock CO1 scenarios cannot. We will be providing a conversion service for CO1 user made scenarios. That will be a limited service.
     
  3. davidshq

    davidshq Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Hugo

    Hugo Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dave, I'm not sure to understand when you talk about "stock CO1 scenarios", as I'm not familliar with the term "stock" here.

    So let me ask it mt way, if you don't mind:

    Do you have any plan of releasing scenarios or campaigns from previous CO1 iteration (like BftB, HttR, BfG, ...) but playable with the new CO2 engine ? I'll be glad to buy such packs, especially the Greece campaign, one of my favorite.
     
  5. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    286
    Welcome Hugo. The five modules currently contain most of the scenarios from our previous CO1 games. The Foothills of the Gods module is essentially the Greek and Albanian scenarios from COTA. The Cauldron module contains the Crete and Malta scenarios from COTA plus a number of north African and a Lemnos scenario. The BFTB scenarios have ben broken up into two modules - ie Ride of the Valkryies and Bastogne and the HTTR module contains those from the old HTTR Ex Pack. All five modules have been bundled in the Commander Pack #1 and this is on a special offer that expires mid June. All of these scenarios have been converted to run with the new CO2 engine. You can't use the old ones from CO1 in CO2. If you have some user designed scenarios of your own and you would like these converted then we will be offering a service to do that once the CO2 core goes final - probably in about two weeks time.
     
  6. Hugo

    Hugo Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
  7. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    286
  8. Fishbreath

    Fishbreath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is there any news on this? Sometime in the next few weeks, I'm going to be starting the last scenario in tukker's Brabant Breakthrough pack, and I'd love to write it up with CO2 if possible.
     
  9. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    286
    Pieter Schouten aka Tuckker is a tad busy at the moment working on the upcoming Westwall Module. Once we bed that he may have some time to convert the Brabant Breakthrough pack.
     
    Fishbreath likes this.
  10. Fishbreath

    Fishbreath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Any news on Brabant Breakthrough? My 'next few weeks' estimate turned out to be wildly optimistic, but I'm going to be finishing my Breaking Fortress Holland AAR series in December for sure, and it would be cool to do it in CO2 if possible.
     
  11. Pieter

    Pieter Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm sorry it took forever, but I'm happy to announce that the three 'Brabant Breakthrough' scenarios have been converted and can now be dowloaded from the 'Resources' page of this site.

    Pieter 'tukker' Schouten
     
  12. Pieter

    Pieter Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    Some of you might be interested in the ancient Epsom scenarios as well, so I converted them and put them in the resources.

    Pieter
     
  13. rocketman

    rocketman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for converting the old scenarios. Much appreciated.
     
  14. Tarm

    Tarm Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for bumping such a old thread but it is relevant for my request/question.

    I just bought command ops 2 highway to the reich. The reason I bought just that one is I'm a big fan of the original and especially one of the Bases fictional scenarios. It's the one where the five victory points roughly create a X. The forces are randomly selected between several presets for both sides.

    Now my problem is that scenario doesn't seem to be included in the module I bought. Since that was essentially the reason I bought that module, I couldn't find a scenario list anywhere I feel a bit cheated.

    So do you recognise the scenario from my description (I've forgotten the name and haven't been able to play the original game for several years because I don't have a computer that can run it.) and if so is it in another module and if not could you please port it to your new engine?
     
  15. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    286
    We dropped the Battle of the Bases scenarios when we converted from the original HTTR to CO1. The prime reason being the amount of effort required for the conversion vis a vis the demand for non-historical scenarios of this type. The CO2 scenarios are again conversions of the CO1 HTTR. So yes they were not included. We don't have any plans to do so. At this stage we would effectively have to create the scenario from scratch. If enough people ask for it then we'd consider it. But we'd have to charge for this effort.
     
  16. Tarm

    Tarm Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for answering.
    I'd certainly pay full module price for a couple scenarios like that but from your answer I guess I'm in the minority and there isn't much hope. Come to think of it I'd pay full module price for just that scenario.

    Ah well. I'll read your site from time to time and keep hoping.

    Edit: Is CO1 being sold somewhere? If I can't find my old setup file or disc (Can't even remember which I bought.) I could buy that then and see if I could get it to run on windows 10.
     
  17. Kurt

    Kurt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    36
    Hey Tarm , why not have a go at creating a similar scenario yourself :wideyed: its very rewarding .
     
  18. Tarm

    Tarm Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting reply. I just might do that. Depends mostly on if there are stock maps and troops I can use. Building something from scratch is too much for me.

    Yes modding is very rewarding. I've done some modding in for example Dominions 4 and when I'm sufficiently satisfied with the mod it is a great feeling. :)
     
  19. Kurt

    Kurt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    36
    Well there are plenty of stock maps you can use , and creating fictitious forces from the " estab editor " is fairly easy once you get the hang of it .
     
  20. Tarm

    Tarm Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like it shouldn't be too much work then. I'll put it on my to do list for my summer vacation. Thanks for the tips. :)
     

Share This Page