Rules questions

Discussion in 'World At War 85 Series' started by Matt Lohse, Feb 18, 2015.

  1. Matt Lohse

    Matt Lohse Editor
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    13
    I wanted to get input on the following rules questions as I work on the revisions...

    Currently a formations HQ can call up to two fire missions per activation. Should strikes called by a recon unit or a leader count against those two or should they be counted separately? If they are separate, should they be limited to 1 or 2 missions per turn?



    When discussing LOS and hills, the rules say that “an intervening crest line may be ignored if (1) the target is also on a hill hex or (2) the attacker or target is adjacent to the hill line.” But when I look at the LOS chart [using the one from TUS] the M60 is adjacent to the hill line (hex with Challenger) but it can’t see the T-80. If we assume the figure is correct, then the word “adjacent” is incorrect and it should read “is in a hex containing the hill line”. Thoughts?



    Currently both being in improved positions and having a hero let a unit ignore a hit under at least some conditions. Should these be allowed to stack (ignore 2 hits) or should there be a maximum of one hit ignored?
     
  2. rastamann

    rastamann Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    1) Artillery
    I'd count the artillery requests separately for each formation, but have recon units and leaders reduced to 1 per turn. I think this would reflect the fact that recon units call arty missions but I believe they don't include a dedicated FAO. I think this should be the same for Leaders.

    2) LOS
    Would it be possible to upload a picture with that specific example? I think that if an enemy is adjacent he should always be seen.

    3) Improved/Leader
    I think one max should be quite sufficient - they're sufficiently hard to dislodge as it is :D
     
  3. rastamann

    rastamann Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    On the subject of questions, and regarding LOS - do intervening units (friend or foe) block LOS?
     
  4. Matt Lohse

    Matt Lohse Editor
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    13
    They do not (unless they are wrecks and there are two of them).
     
  5. rastamann

    rastamann Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks! I was under that impression. I'm not sure if I missed it in the rules - perhaps add it in to the new version?
     

Share This Page