Scenario 01 SSR Question

Discussion in 'It Started Here' started by Curt, Jul 26, 2020.

  1. Curt

    Curt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I see that this was asked a few years back but needs to be asked again as this is from the v3.2 rules.

    Scenario Special Rules
    1. The 334/32 NVA Battalion is activated on Turn 2, and may move and fire normally. Until activated neither the 334/32 or 7/66 NVA battalions may move or fre normally. The 334/32 Battalion may however, fre on adjacent units.

    2. The 7/66 NVA battalion activated and enters play on Turn 4. Example: if the American rolls a “2” on the first turn, there is both an event, but the 334/33 is activated. If the roll was a “3”, there would still be an event, but the 334/32 would not be activated.

    I’m sure that “fre” means “fire” but did the previous entry by events change and now the 334/32 automatically enters on Turn 2 and the 7/66 on Turn 4 and the Example on SSR 2 should not be there and ignored?

    Also, regarding Transport helicopters, how are they able to drop off troops AND attack? Does the removal happen immediately or at the end of that turn? Or is it that as long as the troops are still onboard that that is the only way it may attack?

    Thanks!!

    Curt
     
  2. Curt

    Curt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow!! 140 views as of this post and no responses?! Too bad there’s no living rules as promised back in 2018 to compare mine to. How often do the designers check these forums? Rather than signing up on BGG, I went directly to the source.

    Hey Mr Fitzgerald, if you’re out there please respond to my questions!!

    Have a Smurfy day!!

    Curt
     
  3. Maurice Fitzgerald

    Maurice Fitzgerald Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    21
    Sounds like you have an incorrect rule book. The SSR should state the following:

    Scenario Special Rules

    1. Until activated neither the 334/32 or 7/66 NVA battalions may move or fire normally.
    The 334/32 Battalion may however, fire on adjacent units. If the Roll for Event
    number rolled at the beginning of the American turn (to determine if there is an
    event) is equal to or less than the turn number doubled, the 334/32 NVA Battalion
    is activated and may move and fire normally. Example: if the American rolls a “2”
    on the first turn, there is no event and the 334/32 is activated. If the roll was a “3”
    on the first turn, there is an event, but the 334/32 would not be activated.

    (The odd result above means no event because events only trigger on odd rolls. The roll is equal to or less than the turn number doubled, so that activates the 334/42 unit)

    2. The 7/66 NVA battalion enters play two turns after the 334/32 Battalion is activated.


    As it states in the rules, Helicopters can only attack when hovering and troops can only disembark when a Helicopter is hovering. To disembark troops helicopters must hover and the troops that disembarked cannot move but may close assault.

    For a situation where this could be applicable; if a Helicopter was offloading one unit of troops into a hex that already had one leader an one unit in it (staying under the stacking limit), the helicopter could stay and support the fire attack of the leader and one unit in the hex, then it is removed. Otherwise, it is removed immediately upon disembarking troops.
     
  4. Curt

    Curt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply and info!!

    This is the rule book/ info that I have. I should probably put in a ticket for a correct rule book.

    Thanks again!!

    Curt
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page