Tank on Tank Westfront, combat modifiers

Discussion in 'Tank On Tank Series' started by Jackard, Mar 27, 2016.

  1. Jackard

    Jackard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I just bought the game and love it. I have a question though.
    Does a single unit firing add +1 at his roll ? Or the +1 bonus for each firing unit applies only with at least 2 firing units (I played like that my first games but maybe I'm wrong).
    Thanks.
     
  2. Gabor Venczel

    Gabor Venczel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, you need to add the + 1 even if only one unit is firing! +2 if firing from a flanking position.
     
  3. Jackard

    Jackard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your answer. I'll play this way next times !
     
  4. David Heath

    David Heath Administrator
    Staff Member Support Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Hi Guys

    I don't think that is correct. You do not add a +1 when only one unit is attacking. As an example, if three units are attacking and one is flanking it would be a +3. If no unit is flanking then it would be only +2.

    David
     
  5. Jackard

    Jackard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Your way is interesting too. But the rulebook simply said "add +1 for each firing units". There is no example so I'm still not sure how to play it.
    I tried multiples ways, and well the game's great anyway but I'd like to know if one option appears better for the game than the others.
    For now I keep playing with +1 for each units, even so it's just one unit firing.
    As for your example of three units firing and one is flanking, to me it would be a +4. But on a french boardgame forum, some people play your way too. Kind of "+1 for each units firing -1".
     
  6. Gabor Venczel

    Gabor Venczel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think the rulebook is correct: "Roll two six sided dice (2D6) sum them, and add the number of firing pieces" It does not say that exclude the first firing piece, or add the number of firing pieces above the first.
     
  7. Jormungandr

    Jormungandr Designer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gabor is correct - "add the number of firing pieces" means you count ALL firing pieces.

    Peter B., designer of the Tank on Tank series
     
  8. Jackard

    Jackard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your answer !
    And congrats for this great game !
     
  9. David Heath

    David Heath Administrator
    Staff Member Support Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Sorry I got it wrong.
     
  10. Gabor Venczel

    Gabor Venczel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank You Peter! The game is absolutely awesome!
     

Share This Page