Anti-aircraft fire clarification.

Discussion in 'World At War 85 Series' started by Wickedvicar, Jan 27, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Wickedvicar

    Wickedvicar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am a bit confused on the AA fire.

    Under the CAS AA explanation it looks like you could have a Blue FP/Blue To Hit unit fire full shots at CAS and add up to two other eligible units, Black or Orange FP, for up to an extra +2 FP. Would that be +2 FP of the dedicated AA unit?

    Do all the other eligible units, Black or Orange FP, get to fire their reduced FP and 6 to hit shots at the CAS as well or is that just at Helos?
     
  2. Starman

    Starman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yes, No.

    YES = One unit may Opportunity Fire when the CAS is placed in the target Hex, up to two eligible units may assist by adding +1 FP each to this attack.
    NO= They have already fired by assisting the primary fire and they may only have done so if the CAS was within their effective range.

    A unit with Non Anti Aircraft FP could be the primary FP and be assisted by two other units but it could only fire at effective range, with no point blank bonus to its FP, which suffers a -2 penalty o it's FP(dice) and hits only on a 6.

    The interdiction roll represents any Aircraft Cover and AA fire the CAS has to navigate to reach its target and the one Anti-Aircraft attack on it represents the target area AA.
     
  3. kowalski marc

    kowalski marc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,

    so to repeat the first point, a unit AA Roland : 4 dices hit 5 + 2 MBT 1d6 each the AA fire = 6 dices hit on 5!!!

    if HQ + 2 dices too.

    at the start of the game it stings for the pilot. I understand the rule?

    second question when a CAS card is drawn and the pilot passes interception is he obliged to be put on the card or he can "pass his turn"?

    Thank's
     
  4. Keith Tracton

    Keith Tracton Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    51
    You do in fact understand the rule correctly! :)

    You are only obliged to place the CAS counter on a target hex. If that hex has no actual target (like the corner of the map, behind a convenient hill) you ar still subject to but if you do not it is still placed in the discard pile.
     
  5. kowalski marc

    kowalski marc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok thank's
    back to battle:):):)
     

Share This Page