Welcome to the LnLP Forums and Resource Area

We have updated our forums to the latest version. If you had an account you should be able to log in and use it as before. If not please create an account and we look forward to having you as a member.

Day of Heroes - where are skills and the Pakistani MG-3?

joshcoady

Just got my shipment of all things Day of Heroes and a couple of questions have cropped up as I looked through the materials. I'm new to the system, so not exactly sure what to expect.

How does hero generation work? The module rules under "13.2 Allied Forces" states that "American Rangers generate Heroes normally" and this is reiterated on the rules reference player aid. So looking in the core modern rules under "11.2 Heroes" it has a paragraph on random hero generation:
There is a chance that a Hero is created
whenever a 1 is rolled on a Squad or
Half-squad’s Damage Check. Roll 1d6
again. If the number is even, a Hero has
been created. Randomly pick a Hero
and a Skill counter (12.0) from the
cup—and the Skill must be usable by the
Hero; if not, pick again. Newly created
Heroes assume the activation status of
the unit that spawned them.​

Section "12.0 Skills" also mentions a "Skill Player Aid".

I cant find any counters or player aids for skills. Am I missing something?

My other question is regarding the scenario "Ambush!" which seems to revolve around a Pakistani MG-3, but I cannot locate an MG-3 counter. I scan counter sheets before I punch them in case stuff gets lost, so I know what it originally came with, and I'm not seeing an MG-3 on there, front or back. Is there a counter for the MG-3 or am I supposed to substitute? What are the stats? etc

Ralph Ferrari

Staff member
There are no Skills used in Day of Heroes.

And a quote from Jeff Lewis on a BoardGameGeek thread regarding the MG-3:

"Yes, we did miss the Pakistani M3. Apologies. It's a 2-10 MG so an M-60 can be used instead."

joshcoady