Crash to desktop

Discussion in 'Command Ops Series' started by JArraya, Nov 13, 2020.

Tags:
  1. JArraya

    JArraya Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    14
    Had my first ever CO2 CTD. This is with the new version. Wasn't doing anything in particular. Recording attached, hopefully it helps to diagnose and resolve.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    102
    Thanks, great that you have a recording.
     
  3. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    102
    This is fixed and pending Dave's review, thank you for bringing this up. If the fix is fine, you'll get new version on Steam tonight and will be even able to continue playing from the point where you've gotten CTD.
     
  4. JArraya

    JArraya Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks @ioncore , were you able to look at the lagging recording I sent? I consistently get that behaviour now and can send another recording if it helps.
     
  5. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    102
    Not yet. The fix is live now, please make sure you've updated to the build ID 5835917 (or later)
     
  6. john connor

    john connor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    125
    What other fixes are in that build, ioncore? For instance, is the lock-up behaviour fixed in there?
     
  7. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    102
    No, only this one. Other fixes will be announced individually.
     
  8. JArraya

    JArraya Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    14
    I ran the game with the udate and no further CTD, but ALSO, no more lagging. The game ran smoothly, so maybe the two issues were related. Just thought it would be worth mentioning that you may have solved the lagging issue at the same time.
     
  9. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    102
    Most definitely not. But keep an eye on it and report again, if spotted. I'll ignore it for now.
     
  10. pekische

    pekische Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    4
    CTD with last build 5835917. Marked a group of units and an attack order issued... immediately then fall into desktop

    Recording attached
     

    Attached Files:

  11. john connor

    john connor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    125
    The group select-give order-ctd thing has been around forever. Is this what happened, pekische? I find it happens if I select a group that's too large for something in the system to cope with, which size seems to vary, so it's hard to predict, and as I've got more powerful systems over the years it's definitely got less common. It was raised a very long time ago - I mean years - but I don't recall it ever being identified and dealt with. I always save before I do a large lassoo...Be nice if this is what's captured in your save so that it can be looked at.
     
  12. pekische

    pekische Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    4
    I used lassoo but the group was not too large... only one Bn + one Coy... the same CTD I had a day before...
     
  13. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    102
    Yes, this an old thing, but I'll check it out anyway, I never had encountered it myself and never got any recording to analyze.
     
  14. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    102
    Sorry, the recording does not reproduce the CTD (must've crashed before it got a chance to record the reason).
    May be next time I'll encounter this CTD myself.
     
  15. pekische

    pekische Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    4
    CTD really happend immidiately after the order was issued... I will try to repeat my process...
     
  16. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    102
    Yeah. Don't rely on recording this time, try to remember the actual mouse actions that lead to CTD.
     
  17. john connor

    john connor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    125
    This is very familiar. I recall sending saves to Dave right before the CTD, years ago (before we had recordings...), with precise instructions as to which orders and clicks preceded the CTD, but it would never reproduce for him. Good luck.

    Take a save immediately before the last click that preceded the CTD, pekische, and send that along with info on the last click...
     
  18. pekische

    pekische Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    4
    I can´t repeat CTD now ofcourse :D
     
  19. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,232
    Likes Received:
    417
    Guys, I am wondering if this is related to another issue that causes a CTD, namely when navigating forces using the cursor keys. We discovered a bug that will return garbage if the superforce (up arrow) points to a force that is not on map and not arriving as a reinforcement. So can you pay particular attention to what force structure type is being displayed. Thanks.

    Force Structure.jpg
     
  20. pekische

    pekische Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    4
    CTD again... played with 5856146 built

    defend order issued... all work fine... later I click on the defend order (on the map) to edit it - I click on "max" button for aggro, then for ROF and finally for losses. After the third click CTD happend.

    record attached... I have no save
     

    Attached Files:

    #20 pekische, Nov 21, 2020
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2020

Share This Page