Unanswered question from BGG game forum

Discussion in 'A Wing and a Prayer - Bombing the Reich' started by Jan Horinek, May 25, 2020.

  1. Jan Horinek

    Jan Horinek Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    1) As I understand it, German interceptors that are damaged in the first round of air combat always disengage before the second round [9.1.10], so that the second round will only consist of undamaged German interceptors and the remaining damaged and undamaged US escorts. A similar thing happens when the interceptors attack the bombers - only undamaged interceptors attack, and they break off after the first round if they are damaged by the bombers' defensive fire [9.2.8]. The net result is that it's never possible to shoot down a damaged German interceptor because they always disengage once they are damaged. Is that correct?

    2) I assume that bombers, like fighters, can only attack once in each round of air combat. Therefore, if an individual bomber is attacked by multiple German interceptors, the bomber must choose a single interceptor to attack with defensive fire and the remaining interceptors are not attacked. I think [9.2.5] isn't quite clear on this point. Is this correct?

    3) There is no limit to the number of interceptors that can target an individual bomber, right? And no limit to the number of interceptors that can target an individual element? I've had unlucky B-17s attacked by three interceptors on more than one occasion, and for some reason my Lead element seems to attract more than its share of Luftwaffe attention.
    4) I don't know how to interpret 9.2.4 Interceptor Waves. Is it trying to state that if the bomber formation as a whole is about to be attacked by 5 or more German interceptors, the attack is divided into two waves of 4 interceptors (first wave) and the remaining 1-4 interceptors (second wave)? Or is it trying to address a very rare case in which every individual element in a very small bomber formation has 4 interceptors allocated to attack it?

    These were asked in 2017. Never answered. Now i purchased the game and i wonder if there is any support...
     
  2. David Heath

    David Heath Administrator
    Staff Member Support Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    The designer has not been to these forums in a while. You can find him on Facebook and BGG. Tony Costa updated the manual but did not design the game. I just wrote to the designer Erik von Rossing and asked him to stop by and answer your questions.
     
  3. Jan Horinek

    Jan Horinek Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you David.
     
  4. Chuck Parrott

    Chuck Parrott Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can answer those based on what I’ve seen here and reading the rules multiple times:

    1) Yes damaged interceptors are removed from combat at the end of each firing round when damaged. You don’t get any further shots at them.

    2) Bombers get to fire at each interceptor attacking them.

    3) Each element can be attacked by 4 interceptors at most. If there is only 1 element or targeting rolls don’t go your way, any interceptors over 4 attack in a second wave.
     
  5. Jan Horinek

    Jan Horinek Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you, I have managed to get the answers over past 2 months.
    1. and 2. are correct, 3. is not.

    The formation can be attacked by 4 interceptors at most (not an element).
    After the attacks are resolved the second wave comes in (max. 4), Escorts that survived the first wave stay by the Bombers, new Escorts can be assigned by Bombers..

    [9.2.4] Interceptor Waves
    If the Enemy has more than 4 Interceptors attacking all the Elements, the extra Interceptors will attack in a second (or third) Wave.

    I am afraid "all the elements" doesn't mean each element. It means the whole formation.

    My email conversation with Eric

    "Hi Eric,

    i would have one more question if you don't mind.

    What is the idea behind the waves of Attacking Interceptors.
    Let's say there is 5 Interceptors ready to attack the Formation. So there will be 4 of them in the first wave and then the fifth one will go alone in the second wave.
    The only reason for this mechanic that comes to my mind is that you can reuse the Escorts from the first wave to the second wave, which gives a bit of advantage to the US side.

    Is that correct?

    Take care,
    Jan"


    "Hello, Jan.

    You understand that correctly. I wanted a fairly manageable method for dealing with combat and to provide some advantage for the Player.

    Cheers!"
     
    #5 Jan Horinek, Jul 28, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2020
  6. Chuck Parrott

    Chuck Parrott Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I went back and reread 2.2 and it does limit it to 4 interceptors for all elements. Somewhere else I saw 4 per element but could have been a misinterpretation.
     

Share This Page