World At War 85 Clarification and Corrections v1.0

Clarifications, Corrections, World At War 85, Errata, WaW85,

  1. David Heath

    David Heath Administrator
    Staff Member Support Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    938
    Jonathan Nikitas likes this.
  2. Jonathan Nikitas

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    8
    David, a few more that I have caught that need clarification please and thank you:
    Mil-4A Hound flying mode lacks green transport circle, hover has it, safe to assume that flying mode should be green rather than white background?

    Czech Mi-24 Hind D counter has orange superior move and fire for HE, Nationality chart says it does not benefit from this, counter itself (obviously) and playing card reference says it does benefit. Safe to follow counter/playing card reference?

    For future printings a couple of the self propelled artillery units color bands are over the unit art rather than the art being on top of the color.

    Thank you and crew! Tons of quality in game.
     
  3. Keith Tracton

    Keith Tracton Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hi Jonathan, glad you like it and thanks for the input!

    1. Yes on the MI-4 Hound should be a transport on both sides

    2. Yes, the National Unit table is in error, I will get that on the clarifications.

    Can you be more specific about where you see the SPA color bands are at issue, please? :)
     
    Jonathan Nikitas likes this.
  4. Jonathan Nikitas

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    8
    Keith, thank you sir!

    The SPA's with the color band over the unit art are from the Frankfurt expansion in memory serves, Russian, the lighter green/blue bands.

    Further inquiry:
    East German Hind D does not benefit from superior fire and move, but is the same cost points wise as the Czech Hind-D. 93 pts. East German Hinds supposed to have this capability as well? To be fair the East German Hind D counter, card, and play aid state they do not.

    What is the benefit of superior fire and move on Helos? The rules and play aids state that helos no matter their attack color backgrounds can only move either 12 or less and fire or over 12 and not. EG they do not currently receive a bonus or penalty for having it/not having it.

    Rapid Fire HE to attack heavily armored targets:
    Base game module does not allow Soviet Hind-E's this luxury, but they in turn receive it in Frankfurt and Czech D's receive it on Second Wave. Should Soviet Hind-E's in the base game be able to do so given their points and firepowers are exactly the same? (And perhaps by extension East German D's as well if playing with the points scenario generator) Or does this reflect a purposeful change in their load outs between time lines/fronts? :)
     
  5. Keith Tracton

    Keith Tracton Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hi Jonathan! I need some time to research your further inquiries above, but in the meantime could you get me a picture of what you mean on the counters? I would appreciate it, as I am looking at the counters and am having difficulty seeing what you mean. Thanks!
     
  6. Jonathan Nikitas

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    8
    Can do will send a PM with pictures! Thanks so much for your help!
     
  7. Keith Tracton

    Keith Tracton Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    45
    For the HInd-D question above (para 1): Both the East German and Czech HIND-Ds should have Enhanced Move and FIre on their respective National Unit tables. I will get that into the clarifications ASAP.

    For the Enhanced Move & Fire question above (para 2)- The benefit is they can move 12 hexes and not suffer any direct fire penalty. :) To be clear, ALL Flying helicopters with an AP or HE value on the Flying side have enhanced move and fire, it is an inherent function of being in Flying Mode. You may move 12 hexes and still fire the weapons available to you when Flying (see the Note at the very end of Core Rules page 47, 9.7.1, Flying). As a convenient reminder, it is on the Move & Fire Summary Fire Chart (PAC05, page 3 of 3), which I thought would be helpful. I will add clarifications as needed to the National Unit tables.

    My apologies for any confusion that may arise as the color of the Flying HE value on the Attack helicopters was changed to orange because we thought we were going to need that, and the orange was not changed back to black when we reversed course and tried to go with black for all Flying Helicopters. Counter changes are major and we did not want to hold things up! The orange HE color on those units is an artifact and has no effect on the game, but that is why the Move & Fire table for Helicopters says AP or HE value of any color, which would be Black or Orange. Apologies for over-engineering that!

    High ROF HE: Both Soviet HIND-Es, US AH-1 Cobras, and East German HIND-Ds were inadvertently omitted from the list of High ROF units in the base game's Module Rules. I will get that into the clarifications ASAP.

    Note: When designing your own scenarios, you can always play with ammo load-outs for Pact Helos. Simply reduce the points value of any unit foregoing the HIGH ROF HE by 10%, to reflect not taking 23mm gun pods on their mission. :)
     
    Jonathan Nikitas likes this.
  8. Jonathan Nikitas

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thank ya'll so much for the quick responses! Sounds wonderful! :D
     
  9. Shannon Cooke

    Shannon Cooke Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    When will this be updated with the newest errata/clarifications?
     
  10. dwbennett

    dwbennett Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    In StG Scenario 3, Scenario Rules 1. states that "US Initiative: The Soviet 2/247th GMR has the Initiative."

    I believe this is in error as this is supposed to be a US counterattack. My "House Rule" will be: US Initiative: Fox 2/11th ACR has the Initiative.

    Side Note: I was assigned to A Co., 547th Engineer Btn. (Combat), 130th Engineer Brigade, stationed at Kelly Barracks, Darmstadt, WG, from 4/1970 to 2/1971. Our mission, amoung others, was to maintain communications across the Rhine River. While I was there we trained several times building a Class 60 pontoon bridge across the Rhine. Stopping traffic on the Rhine River for about 10-12 hours for us to "bridge the Rhine" was a big deal as you could hardly believe the pell-mell rush of traffic after the river was opened up again.

    Also while I was there, my company pulled guard duty on the atomic demolition dump up near Wildflecken. While there several of us took the opportunity to go up and see the border "Iron Curtain" at several places near Tann. At one of the places we passed a 11th Cav track several hunderd meters from the border. And, yes, I have pictures of East Germany at the time.

    Take care,
     
  11. dwbennett

    dwbennett Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    WaW85: Core Rules v2.0, page 73, left column Design Note, second sentence spelling: "conceit" should probably be "concept".
     
  12. Proudgeek159

    Proudgeek159 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Love the game. I loved the first edition of World at War, but this blows it out of the water (so far, can't wait to get the other Theatre modules!).

    1) Support Weapon Destruction: So, I may be blind, but I haven't been able to find the rules section that describes what happens to a Support Weapon after its Infantry unit is destroyed. (I read Sections 10.5 and 10.7.1 thoroughly.) I understand that an Armor Support Weapon would be taken out with the carrying unit, but in the case of the Infantry Support Weapon, those can be transferred between units, which makes things somewhat unclear. In Scenario 01: Storming the Gap, there is only one infantry unit on the board, so it's pretty simple in that case. My gut says that the Support Weapon is destroyed. Is that correct?

    2) Soviet/Pact Volley Fire: According to Section 10.6.10, Soviet Heavy Armor vehicles may receive a +1 to their FP dice when they are stacked with another Heavy Armor unit from the same nation. If one of the vehicles is marked OPS Complete, can the other vehicle use the Volley Fire bonus, or do you lose one of the vehicle's FP completely? I don't see the point in sacrificing an entire unit's FP for a gain of only one FP.

    Thanks again for making an awesome game!
     
    #12 Proudgeek159, Feb 10, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2020
  13. Keith Tracton

    Keith Tracton Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    45
    So glad you are enjoying it! Short answers below:

    1) When a unit is eliminated any Support Weapon attached to it is too, regardless if there is another unit in that hex.

    2) Both units are Ops Complete after Volley Fire: the unit that fires, and the unit that fires WITH it to add it the bonus. The purpose? To crack really hard targets. When you are trying to fight versus Improved Positions. for example, the IP stops the first hit. So, even if you fire a Soviet T-80, say, at an armored target in an IP, the most you can score on one shot is not 3 hits (it rolls 3 dice for AP FP), but 2. Coupled with average armor and/or defensive bonuses, and that position is likely going to hold out for a while. But make your shot 4 dice instead and now you have a chance of disrupting or eliminating the unit in fewer attacks, in preparation maybe for an Assault.

    Hope this helps!
     
  14. Proudgeek159

    Proudgeek159 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the quick response, Keith.

    So for question 2, the wording on Section 10.6.10 should be "...in a stack with another Heavy Armor vehicle of the same nation that is not marked Ops Complete."

    Works for me. The other option would have been to allow an entire stack to fire, but that didn't seem to match the rest of the rules.
     
  15. Keith Tracton

    Keith Tracton Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    45
    Your wording is clearer, thanks. :)

    Right, it would not match. So, similarly, even AA fire is one unit fires, others provide a modifier, but if you do either you are Ops Complete.
     
  16. dwbennett

    dwbennett Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Storm and Steel: Second Wave, Scenario 1: The Czech formation 1/67th MMR setup says "Enter Turn 2 on the north edge of the map." However, directly below the Scenario Rules states: "The Czech 1/67th MRR has the initiative on Turn 1."

    Today I'm going with the Czech setup with the 1/12th TR having the initiative on Turn 1.

    Take care,
     
  17. Starman

    Starman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    14
    @Keith Tracton someone else has asked about this on BGG , Joel Toppen no less , so an answer would be useful.
     
  18. Keith Tracton

    Keith Tracton Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    45
    You are correct. 1/12th TR has the Initiative.
     
  19. Keith Tracton

    Keith Tracton Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hi,

    The US has the initiative for any one formation of their choice.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page