Smoke from Mortars

Discussion in 'LnLT Rule Questions' started by Nick DelCorpo, Sep 29, 2019.

  1. Nick DelCorpo

    Nick DelCorpo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    34
    I have searched high and low but have found nothing. Does anyone know if smoke is allowed to be fired from mortars. Me and my pop are just house ruling smoke rule. Basically we are going to use the standard mortar indirect fire procedure and if it hit will then place a smoke 1 marker in the hex where it landed (according to normal procedure).
     
  2. Stéphane Tanguay

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    108
    From V5.0, page 44:
    Vehicles (15.0), Mortar WTs and Offboard Artillery (18.2) CANNOT fire or lay Smoke unless specified in a Special Scenario Rule (SSR, 22.0).

    From V5.0, page 98:
    Onboard Mortars and Off-board Artillery cannot fire/lay Smoke (7.0) unless noted in a Special Scenario Rule (SSR).
     
    MerighiP likes this.
  3. Nick DelCorpo

    Nick DelCorpo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    34
    Thanks. I guess the 5th edition really clarifies things. Is smoke prohibited in this way because of complexity, because I'll def stick with the house rule as it adds quite a few new tactics to the game and is pretty standard stuff. Seems odd we have stinger misses but not smoke launchers or smoke rounds with our mortar teams? whats going on here? :)
     
  4. Stéphane Tanguay

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    108
    I doubt it was for complexity for can't say why this design choice was made
     
    Nick DelCorpo likes this.

Share This Page