Steam

Discussion in 'CO2 - Game Support' started by TMO, Nov 13, 2020.

  1. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,250
    Likes Received:
    424
    Tim, can you please show me some screen dumps where these dialogs are cut off. Thanks.
     
  2. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
  3. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    This is build 5.1.28. Take a look at the Force Data dialogue box.

    Regards

    Tim
     
  4. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    Another question. I much prefer the sharpness of the graphics in the LnL downloaded game compared to the Steam downloaded game. Is there any way I can download in Steam and then copy into my LnL directory?

    Regards

    Tim
     
  5. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    114
  6. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,250
    Likes Received:
    424
    Hey Tim what dpi scaling have you set for your system. It needs to be set to 100% for Cmd Ops.
     
  7. john connor

    john connor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,350
    Likes Received:
    135
    Interesting. I've noticed no difference whatsoever in the graphics quality. Is there one, really (devs)?
     
  8. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    This is the LnL version 5.1.28
    upload_2020-12-1_13-42-55.png

    The Steam version 5.1.31
    upload_2020-12-1_13-45-17.png
     
  9. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    As you can see both images taken at the highest map magnification. I did some measurements:

    Counters, 6mm x 5mm in LnL; 8mm x 7mm in Steam.
    Control bar height, 5mm in LnL; 6mm in Steam.
    Force data box, 4.2cm x 9.5cm in LnL; 5.3cm by 11.8cm in Steam (Note the glitch in the LnL box, so not a completely fair comparison.)
    Control box, 4cm x 4cm in LnL; 5cm x 5cm in Steam.

    I think the larger dimensions in the Steam version compared to the LnL version, in my view, contribute to the slighly fuzzy quality of the Steam graphics.

    Regards

    Tim
     
  10. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    LnL
    upload_2020-12-1_14-8-36.png

    Steam
    upload_2020-12-1_14-5-58.png

    Writing not as clear in Steam version.

    Regards

    Tim
     
  11. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    The difference in definition is most noticeable in the start-up screens.

    Regards

    Tim
     
  12. GoodGuy

    GoodGuy Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    78
    I use to get the very same effect when I run the original HTTR (max. resolution 1280 * 1024) on a monitor with a native resolution of 1920 * 1080. Many TFT-Displays don't fully support other resolutions than their native resolutions, so it looks like one of your game versions pulls a diff. resolution. Did you change the font scale for the resolution used for the LnL version, by chance?

    The counters, the minimap and the force window in the Steam version are bigger than in the LnL version. EDIT: I wonder if your font scale is set to over 100% when running the LnL , so that the game can't fully display the text in the existing real estate (windows), which is noticable in the Force window. The text in the minimap seems to use a diff. font, so the engine has no problem to fit in the text/numbers, there. It just might deal with the diff. resolutions you seem to use, though.
     
  13. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    I don't do anything differently with my LnL or Steam versions. As you can see from the Start-up windows the Steam text is slightly bigger and noticeably less sharp.

    Regards

    Tim
     
    #33 TMO, Dec 1, 2020
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2020
  14. john connor

    john connor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,350
    Likes Received:
    135
    Yeah, but Goodguy is trying to help you, TMO, because it's not normal what you're seeing. What's normal is there's no difference at all.

    Here's my 2 opening dialogues from my steam and LnL versions:

    4.png

    5.png

    They're exactly the same, I think.

    So maybe try to check out the things Goodguy suggests as causes?

    It's really weird, that - that they draw differently.

    Did you try picking your actual resolution in the steam resolution dialogue, as opposed to leaving it to match things automatically? Just in case.

    And as Dave said, did you absolutely make sure you are using 100% windows scaling?
     
    #34 john connor, Dec 1, 2020
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2020
  15. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    I know Goodguy is trying to help, he always does (we go back a long way!). The shots you show look perfect! Not like mine. Tried actual screen resolution rather than automatic but doesn't make any difference. How do I check 100% Windows scaling? All my other graphics look good.

    Regards

    Tim
     
    GoodGuy likes this.
  16. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok, had a quick search and 100% scaling in Windows 10 seems to be the default, so don't see how that could have changed.

    Regards

    Tim
     
  17. john connor

    john connor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,350
    Likes Received:
    135
    1.png

    It could easily have changed. Whether it's default or not depends on many things.

    Type in the search field, as above. Select that option - 'Change the size of text...etc' by clicking it in the list (it's the big blue field at the top). This will get you the screen below:


    2.png

    Make sure the dropdown is set to 100%
     
  18. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    Did a complete uninstall of Steam and reinstall under new username. For Start-up options now have:

    LnL
    upload_2020-12-1_21-42-29.png
    Steam
    upload_2020-12-1_21-48-39.png

    Which looks identical to what I had before.

    Regards

    Tim
     

    Attached Files:

  19. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sorted!! Thanks to all of you especially John, Dave and Gunnar. Scale and Layout had been set to 150% (don't understand how!). Setting to 100% and all looks good. Also sorts out the problems I reported with 5.1.28. One last puzzling thing, why if I had the wrong Scale and layout settings was 5.1.28 (LnL) displaying as if all was good apart from the Force data dialogue box? Huge thanks to everyone who contributed to this thread!

    Regards

    Tim
     
    GoodGuy likes this.
  20. TMO

    TMO Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    7
    And special thanks to John for the screenshots which allowed me to understand how to fix it. A picture is worth a thousand words, thanks John.

    Regards

    Tim
     

Share This Page