Issue with the Malta 1940 scenario (The Cauldron module)

Discussion in 'CO2 - Scenarios' started by Amgot, May 17, 2020.

  1. Amgot

    Amgot Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    At scenario start with the Malta 1940 scenario (part of the Cauldron module), because there is no Division or Brigade HQ assuming overall command of British forces on the island, the designated on-map boss is the HQ of the 2nd Bn Devonshire Rgt, one of the five battalions on the island. As it goes, this HQ's command capacity is completely overloaded from the start.

    I see no Division or Brigade HQs set to arrive as reinforcements. Is the British player stuck with this lacking command structure?

    I've found that old 2008 Matrix forum thread about the scenario, back when it was made for CotA: in it, Dave already signaled the issue to the scenario maker:
    Was this never fixed?

    I may be missing something but I must say I'm a little suprised that the scenario wasn't fixed since it has since then been included (and sold) in a commercial module (The Cauldron).

    If this was never fixed, is there a way to detach all the independant units (coastal batteries, AA units, etc) attached to the 2nd Bn HQ Devonshire Rgt, so it only remains the organic superior of its 4 regular infantry companies + mortar platoon?
     
    Seb3brv78 likes this.
  2. Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor

    Dave 'Arjuna' O'Connor Panther Games Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,051
    Likes Received:
    335
    I just checked this out. It's a gross oversight on my part. Sorry. There is a Malta Command HQ in the force list but the scenario designer has obviously failed to place it on map at start. It should be there. I've added it now. I won't release this updated scenario till I put out the patch as we've done a number of file conversions already and this new one won't work with your older build. But know that it is coming.
     
  3. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    78
    @Amgot
    Are you using Steam or LNL version of the Cauldron? If it is Steam, we could roll out the fix asap.
     
  4. Amgot

    Amgot Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    @ioncore

    I'm using the LnL version but I can easily switch to Steam if you release a fix - I already have my Steam keys for the different modules I own. How soon do you think you could roll out that fix?

    Thanks your replies Dave and ioncore, that's great game support.
     
  5. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    78
    Should be within 24 hours from now. I'll let you know in this thread.
     
    Amgot likes this.
  6. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    78
    @Amgot
    Build 5043135 of Cauldron DLC just went live. Please try it out and let me know if you have any issues remaning.
     
    panzerpit and Seb3brv78 like this.
  7. Amgot

    Amgot Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Looks like it's fixed. Thanks for your super efficient support!
     
    Seb3brv78 and ioncore like this.
  8. panzerpit

    panzerpit Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    7
    And what about Steam? Did you also update the Steam DLC?
     
  9. ioncore

    ioncore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    78
    This was explicitly Steam update.
     
    panzerpit likes this.
  10. panzerpit

    panzerpit Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    7
    Great! Thx for info. :)
     

Share This Page